src=”https://buffer.com/resources/content/images/2022/03/Blog-Post–6-.jpg” alt=”A Better Way to Save Your Social Posts for Later”>
Social content ideas can come at any moment. Do you think anyone else has an idea right before they go to bed? But they are rarely ready or fully formed.
It might be necessary to create a video, write copy, or pass your idea along to another person. There are a lot of ways to save posts later. We’ve seen them all: spreadsheets and word documents, post-it notes, note apps, post it-notes, handwritten notes, and even post-it-notes.
Once the content has been polished and is ready to go you can copy it to a social media management software or directly to your social account.
Two problems exist here.
- It is tedious and time-consuming to download and upload media.
- When you copy things, there is always room for error. Did it copy correctly? Was it set up at the right time?
Buffer is on a mission. We’re making this easier by improving our drafts feature.
Buffer’s new drafts experience
You’ll be able:
- You can plan and save content ideas to be used later on across all your devices. Drafts can be created on desktop or mobile, and will be synchronized together.
- You can add drafts to certain time slots to your calendar so you can plan your social life ahead.
- Buffer plans, including the free one, allow you to save and schedule drafts.
Our goal is for you to jot down all your ideas, review them, refine them and schedule them in one place, in your own time.
Continue reading to learn more about the process!
You can create drafts anywhere
You can save a draft, add to your queue, and it doesn’t really matter if you use the Buffer mobile app or the desktop calendar view.
Drafts can be saved or scheduled
You may need to add a draft to your calendar at a particular time. Other times, you might want to save the draft to your backlog. Scheduling drafts is the same as scheduling posts. To create a draft, click on the slot in your calendar or queue. Or you can create your own time. Drafts that have scheduled times are “placeholders”. They will not be published until they are added to the queue as a completed post.
Turning a draft into a finished post
Go to the queue, open the Drafts tab and review any drafts you have made for a channel. When you feel confident about a draft, and it is ready to be published as a post scheduled for publication, add it to your queue. This will confirm that the draft is a complete post and will be published at the time you choose.
As a team, we can collaborate on drafts
You can grant permissions to your team members to submit drafts before they are published if you have a Team or Agency Plan. Account owners and team members can access all drafts and delete any drafts. All drafts can be moved to the queue. Members of the team with restricted access can edit, delete, or request approval for drafts.
Drafts are available for free
Collaboration workflows are only available to Team and Agency customers. However, if you are a “team of one” and have our Free or Essentials plan you can still save, edit and schedule drafts.
There are more to come
The hardest part of any social media strategy is content creation. However, drafting content is only one step. We will be helping you create high-quality content this year. Stay tuned for more updates and features.
Are you having any questions? We’d love to hear your thoughts and questions via tweets.
Did you miss our previous article…
Leave a Reply