Content marketing is 62% cheaper than other marketing strategies for SaaS companies. It generates three-times more leads than traditional outbound marketing.
These numbers show that content marketing is an effective lead generation tool. A content strategy that is effective can help potential customers get to know your product. You can use your SaaS content to help buyers move through the sales funnel.
SaaS companies employ different types of content in their marketing strategies. A blog is a tool for publishing high-quality content that 98% of SaaS businesses use.
B2C and b2B content marketing goes beyond just blogging. SaaS companies can use it to find and attract their customers. It involves writing blog posts as well as publishing white papers, case studies and infographics. The content marketing publications must engage potential customers, give valuable information, and eventually turn them into paying clients.
This guide will show you how to create a SaaS content marketing strategy.
1. Identify the pain points of customers
The first step to creating your Saas content strategy is to identify customer pain points. This will allow you to focus your content marketing strategy and sales strategy on the needs of your target audience. A customer journey map is the best way to understand what motivates clients to buy.
Customer journey mapping shows interactions between SaaS companies and customers at different times and through different digital channels. This can be used to help you understand how customers interact with your software at every touchpoint.
You must identify the pain points that led people to search for a SaaS solution in order to market SaaS. This will allow you to create precise strategic goals and tailor your content strategy to the needs of your target audience.
Ask customers to contact you directly, or via questionnaires or online surveys. Find out what customers are saying about brands, products and services by visiting industry forums and social media.
Talk to your support and sales teams. You can get valuable feedback from them about your prospects’ problems. Live chat conversations can be used to identify customer pain points. Companies can also benefit from the insights of digital marketing agencies or consulting firms like Venturesmarter to help identify customer pain points.
Once you have identified the pain points, you can create a SaaS content strategy that is relevant to your target audience.
2. Identify the keywords
The next step in developing a SaaS content marketing strategy is to identify the keywords your customers will type into search engines. To find the information they need, customers will use certain keywords at every step of their customer journey.
You can create a comprehensive SaaS content strategy by identifying key phrases that correspond to each stage of the customer journey.
Your potential customers might search online for solutions to their problems. A customer might search for tips to grow their email list.
As they progress down the sales funnel they might start to compare different products. This is where you search terms such as “best popup builders” can help. Now, the user wants to find solutions that will solve their problem.
They may then narrow down their search to find reviews, testimonials or case studies for that specific tool.
As you can see, users search for different content with different keywords as they go through the sales funnel. You must therefore identify every keyword that is used by your buyer’s audience at different stages in their buying journey. Next, create useful content that targets each keyword with the best keyword density.
Online tools such as Google Keyword Planner and Ahrefs or SEMrush, Moz or BuzzSumo can help you find the best keywords.
3. Your goals should be defined
Next, you need to define measurable goals for your SaaS content marketing campaigns. By identifying Key Performance Indicators, (KPIs), and tracking them, you can set goals.
One example is to increase the number of trial registrations. You could also aim to increase the number of visitors to your website’s specific page or sign up for your email newsletter. Each goal would require a different KPI.
These are some examples of goals that are commonly used in a SaaS company:
- Increase brand awareness by increasing website organic traffic 25% per quarter
- Lead generation: Lower the cost per lead by 10%
- Content marketing can increase sales conversion rates by 30%
- Reduce your customer retention rate by 7.5% to increase customer loyalty
You will notice that different KPIs are used to measure different goals. You can align KPIs with each goal by defining your goals.
For example, you might want to track the success of your lead generation efforts by measuring click-through rates. CTR measures the number of clicks per impression for an ad. If your Facebook ad received 1000 impressions and 300 people clicked it, your CTR is (300/1000 x100% = 30).
CTR is a measure of how effective your ads are at generating leads. Clear CTAs and relevant content are the best ways to increase CTR.
4. Set up SOPs to ensure content production
Establishing standard operating procedures for content production is another step in creating a content marketing strategy for your SaaS business. A company will issue SOPs to guide content team members in complex, but routine tasks.
These are the tasks that your SOP should address:
- You should search for topics relevant to each stage of your journey.
- To identify desired content types
- The creation of a content calendar
- Producing high-quality content
- Publication schedule
Content marketers can make use of your company’s standard operating procedures in their daily tasks. This will streamline the creation of SaaS content at every stage.
You can, for example, specify in your SOPs when the best time is to publish your content. Another example is the sharing of tasks among your marketing team members, or the tools required for each stage.
5. Develop a content distribution strategy
A content distribution strategy is essential for your SaaS content marketing plan. It is important to determine where, how often and how you will publish your relevant content. Your content team will need a distribution strategy to promote your latest blog posts, ebooks, or other content types.
Your SaaS company’s distribution strategy should consider several factors. You should consider whether your content will be available to everyone or only premium users. Which websites will you use to host guest blogging? What social media channels are you using to promote and distribute your content?
Scoop, for example, promotes its blog posts via social media platforms such as Twitter.
They can also be found on websites related to their industry, such as the Search Engine Journal’s blog.
Webinars are also available
SaaS companies can also use email as a content distribution channel. Email marketing can be used to distribute various content formats and increase brand awareness.
You can also share blog content with your email subscribers. To keep your audience interested, share tips, industry news and statistics.
Marketing automation tools can be used to increase your content distribution. These tools allow you to schedule content uploads to websites and social media accounts. It’s easier to implement your content distribution strategy.
6. Track your content performance
It is crucial to monitor the content performance of your campaigns in order to ensure your content marketing strategies achieve satisfying results. This can be done by monitoring the KPIs that you have set for your marketing plan. These results will allow you to analyze how to optimize content marketing efforts.
You can track the content performance of your SaaS-based marketing strategy using many online tools. Google Analytics is one example. With the right software, you can create reports and displays that track your desired KPIs.
Scoop.it’s analytics tool, for example, provides easy-to-use analytics and KPIs to help you better understand the impact on your content curation.
Adjust your SaaS marketing strategy if you find that your results aren’t meeting your goals. If you find a piece that generates great results, your SaaS marketing budget can be used to promote it. It can be used as a template in future campaigns.
SaaS content marketing can be a powerful tool to attract a wider audience. Your marketing team should create valuable content that educates the target audience to help them become loyal customers.
A SaaS content marketing strategy is necessary to achieve this. This plan will help you identify the pain points and target keywords of your target customers. Your content marketing strategies will be more successful if you have clear goals. Your marketing content will be more efficient if you establish SOPs to produce high-quality content and a distribution strategy.
Every plan must be tracked. To determine if your strategy is working, it’s important to track the performance of your content.
This guide will help you take your SaaS content marketing efforts up a notch.
Scoop.it Blog published the article How to Create an Effective SaaS Content Marketing Plan.
Did you miss our previous article…